Back They Go!

Back They Go!

I love this cartoon! Mostly because this is what most conservatives talk about when discussing ending illegal immigration.  It is called attrition. You don’t need to round every illegal up, you just make it hard on them to gain employment, education, housing and they will go back on their own accord.  Nothing is wrong with immigrating to the United States, just do it legally. If you can raise 5,000 dollars to pay a mule, you can come up with the funds to pay the fees to become a legal resident.  America doesn’t owe the world a better life.  Make a better life where you are and if your government is some corrupt political machine-well guess what it is over here too! The illegals don’t think it is because it is corrupt in their favor, not the American citizen’s.

By not allowing any illegal immigrant, whether they be from Mexico, Canada or Timbuktu, access to employment, education or housing, we simply uphold the laws we already have on our books, we don’t need to hire additional law enforcement but rather have INS and local authorities do their job they should be doing already and we can eliminate the motivation to enter the United States illegally. If they know there is really nothing waiting here unless they go through proper channels they will be more willing to go through proper channels.  It definitely is worth a try and it is time we hold businesses and law enforcement responsible for cleaning up the mess they have made.

Professor Dena? Surely You Jest!

Me in silver top I was so close but it just didn’t happen. My professor wanted me to teach her last political science class and offered me twenty bucks to do. It was mostly in jest, but I did call her bluff. It didn’t happen and the poor class was so confused. But it would’ve been real fun.  Maybe next time, if I get the opportunity, I will fight a bit harder for it.  In any case I couldn’t have taught the whole class anyway because I had to pick my son up early today from school. But  it did get me thinking.  We need more conservative professors in academia. There needs to be more than one point of view coming from the professors and students.  If all the professors are liberal and all the students are liberal,  then you just get regurgitation.  You need the back and forth and opposing views to really strengthen up your own arguments and to hopefully get others to think for themselves.  As long as liberalism is the presiding point of view, others are going to have a hard time finding their place in the academic world. So they will either shut up about it or take the abuse that will be heaped on them.

One thing I will say about Professor Cole is that even if she doesn’t agree with you and we never do, she respects people’s efforts to learn and she will listen to your side if you listen to hers.  There are plenty of liberals that agree with her inside the class but she has on more than one occasion pointed to me as someone to emulate at least in terms of trying to learn the material, etc.  I find that interesting.

However, you only have to go to “Professor at  LACC LACks Civility” on here to see that not all professors at my school show that kind of fairness. And I have never been blasted by her for my conservative views, she just doesn’t agree with them.  That’s fine with me.  Heck it makes it more fun to me to have someone to debate with.  That being said what would’ve happened if I had taught that class today? You know there would’ve been at least one student who would’ve reported it.  Even if she would’ve stayed in the class the whole time with me.  I also feel at some point my conservative views would’ve come out and that would’ve been the biggest problem.  Because I would’ve been “teaching” conservativism.  So I would be a uncredentialed teacher teaching a point of view that is not considered part of the accepted curriculum.  It is one thing to spout ideas from the student’s desk, it is quite another to do so as a teacher. I wonder what would’ve been the outcome. Maybe nothing,  but maybe there would’ve been a firestorm, you can never tell in these kind of situations.

In any case I was this close (puts index and thumb really close together but not touching) to teaching a political class at LACC.  Professor Dena Leichnitz, has a nice ring to it, don’t you think?