Home Sweet Home…Or Lack Thereof

 

On December 17th, I will no longer have a home. I have been going through all the emotions. From anger to grief to being happy as all get out!  Sometimes I want to punch my landlord in the eye and other times I want to hug him for releasing me. Sometimes I want to sing: Tonight I’m on my way, just set me free, home sweet home!” But whatever the end result, whatever the emotion, I know out of all this fear and sadness something good is going to happen. I keep thinking about the movie the Pursuit of Happyness and how Will Smith’s character kept hanging in there and in the end it turned out well for him. And like Will Smith I will be taking my son along for the ride.

My whole working life I worked with the homeless. And here I am about to be one of them. I wonder was I ever too hard on them. Was I ever too evil in my judgment of them? I hope not, I hope I always was more compassionate. I want to ask forgiveness from every homeless person I treated less honorably. Why didn’t I see it before? They are people just like me. Today I saw a homeless man sitting at McDonald’s so I asked him if he was hungry. He said he was. I asked him what he wanted. He said a sandwich, I asked if a Big Mac will do? He said yes. So I went inside and got him 2 Big Macs and a Coke. Don’t pat me on the back or say what a good person I am. I am nothing of the sort. I didn’t want to be sitting at a McDonald’s hoping someone would buy food for me and my son. I did it because that is a very real possibility and I was hoping God would see and bless me for it.

So as I walk down this road it is with a lot of trepidation and as I join the Forgotten people, I hope that madness won’t get me first. But one day I will find my home sweet home.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Home Sweet Home…Or Lack Thereof

  1. I enjoyed reading your testimony. you will always have a home, in the heart of The Almighty. Homes come, homes go. The physical form is of no significance. Remain with The Lord. He will provide.
    ILY

Leave a Reply

