The Things I Learned in 2010

This is really a continuation of my previous post. Whereas, the other post simply tells you what I accomplished in 2010, this post tells you what I learned this past year.  Therefore the titles come from my previous post.

THE YEAR OF MANY LANGUAGES:

LESSON LEARNED: Don’t doubt your own capabilities. We often can achieve  more than we think we can. So it doesn’t hurt to  try something new. I also learned there are some things I will never get no matter how hard I try-Math is one of those things.

AN HONORABLE YEAR

LESSON LEARNED:  I learned I can do the impossible, if I just get out of my own way. As a kid I wondered what it must be like  to be really smart like Laura (my sister) or Leonard (my brother). Jeff (my other brother) was smart too but he was more like me.  So we had the two geniuses-Laura and Leonard and then there was just us average Joes-Jeff and me. Little did I know that I had a Laura/Leonard in me all along.  That I could make the Dean’s List, that I could achieve and accomplish feats that always seemed out of my grasp. I often told myself I was smarter than what other people knew but for once it was nice to not have it be some state secret, to show the world that it had been there all along. Who knew? I learned that the only thing holding me back all these years was me and all I because it was easier for me to believe the lies told to me than to try to prove them wrong! Well no more!

NIGHT CLUBBING:

LESSON LEARNED: I learned that I do have leadership qualities. My friend, Carter Clews told me once: “You are going to be a leader of your people.” I thought he was just being sweet. But obviously there was something  in me that I wasn’t seeing myself. Something that he could.  Being a leader doensn’t mean bossing people around, it means being able to inspire and motivate them to do for themselves. It means uplifting your fellow man.  That’s the kind of leader I want to be anyway. Hopefully, that is the kind of leader  was in my club, if not then I will keep working on it. Progress not perfection, I keep reminding myself. I will get there one day.

SENATOR LEICHNITZ:

LESSON LEARNED:  I learned I am not a quitter (that was a shocker, let me tell you.), I always thought  I was. I learned I have more ambition than I ever thought I did. Ambition was always a dirty word to me.  I never really appreciated ambitious people. I always equated ambition with greed, being corrupt and ruthlessness. That was not me! Then I learned ambition and drive are good things and that one need not be a harbinger of evil to be ambitious. Now I can see a future where none existed before. Now I can see a fruitful and productive life where once it had been barren. Now I see what God saw all along-a beautiful but broken person who just needed a little love, a big push and a dream. Thank you God for giving me those things. Lastly, I learned that power is intoxicaiting-especially when it is power that comes from God.

FAITHFULLY YOURS:

LESSON LEARNED: Something I had leanred by joining the church was that God was not an absentee father. Though I already had knowledge of that, it really crystallized this past year. What I learned was how truly close he is to all of us. I learned while we need him, he also needs us. He needs us to serve one another, to love one another, to be each other’s rock. For he cannot achieve anything if we are unwilling to listen to him. This year I learned what  a wonderful father, Heavenly Father truly is. Our talks during the summer made me feel so much closer to him. I will always cherish that bond. It is the most valuable thing that I have.

IN THE YEAR OF THE LORD

LESSON LEARNED:  I learned Adonai grows more amazing every day. That I am lucky that God chose me to be his mother. I learned again..that there is no one more worth fighting for and no one I am more afraid of losing.  I learned that being a full time mother is the most difficult and the most rewarding thing in the world. Most of all, I learned patience is not the outward appearance of being “nice” that it is, however,  not giving up when everything inside of you is screaming so loud for you to do just that. I learned that I have a lot more patience than I ever thought I did. God bless my little man.

ON THE PERSONAL SIDE:

 LESSON LEARNED: I learned that success in other areas doesn’t amount to a hill of beans if you don’t have success in your personal life. I learned that if my situation is to change, I am going to have to have the same determination to alter it as I do the rest of my life. I have learned that love of  a child can save you, love of God can heal you, but neither replaces the love of one good man. I am intent on finding him.

WE ARE FAMILY…OR NOT!!!

LESSON LEARNED: Actually it was a lesson solidified more than learned.  I love my family dearly and I couldn’t have asked for anyone better but as a child I always wondered what it would be like to be with my biological family, you know the people who looked like me. The irony of the situation is  even if I would’ve stayed with my biological family, there still wouldn’t have been anyone who looked like me. So all that time spent wondering, all that time spent wishing was for naught! What I learned was how truly lucky I was all along. Of course, I knew that but now I truly knew that! Knowing where I came from has just made me love my real family even more! My real family is the Leichnitzes and they always will be!

Leave a Reply

