Homosexuality / Illegal immigration / Marriage / Sexuality

Gay Couple Reunite!

Okay I am not going to go on about how homosexuality is wrong because all of you know how I feel about that. I think it is dangerous and leads to the death of too many fine people who shorten their lives due to their sexual practices. Okay with that said, I am going to focus on the immigration aspect of this case.

Tim Coco and Genesio Oliveira married in 2005, among the throngs who wed after same-sex marriage became legal in Massachusetts. But for nearly three years, they lived apart — Coco in Haverhill and Oliveira in his native Brazil — because federal law does not recognize their union.

Okay so they are “married.”  Their union isn’t recognized by federal law. So what do they do? Does Oliveira give the U.S the finger and sneak in anyway? Does he falsify papers and pay a mule to get him into America? No, he does not! What does he do? Okay it is about to get crazy up in here! HE FOLLOWS THE LAW!!!! Oh my goodness, I can’t believe it! He actually follows the law?  You have got to be kidding me! Okay let me rest my heart can’t take this!

He has been granted a temporary stay in America. He has one year and he is going to use that year to gain legal residency. Oh my goodness, he is following the law again!  Will wonders never cease? He is actually going to use this opportunity to become…wait for it….A LEGAL RESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES!!!  So you know what I say to Genesio Oliveira? WELCOME TO AMERICA!!! Thank you for playing by the rules. You spent a lot of your money to enter this country legally. The law wasn’t on your side but you found a way to work within the law to achieve your results. That is how immigration is done folks! I have nothing but respect for Genesio because he has shown my country and my people respect by working within our legal system to obtain his goal of being with his partner.  Sure we will probably be duking it out over gay marriage later on, but in the meantime, thank you Genesio for being a man of honor and treating my country with the respect it deserves.  Now how’s that for a homophobe?

Photo by: David Kamerman for The Boston Globe

One thought on “Gay Couple Reunite!

  1. It’s funny cuz I have an identical post on my own web site, with the same exact topic “Gay Couple Reunite! Blacknright’s Weblog”. I ‘m wondering if you would like to make a guest post on my website?

Leave a Reply

