Conservative / Obama / Politics

Roland Burris Denied Senate Seat

First of all, I want to bravo for the system finally working on behalf of the people. Governor Rod Blagojevitch had no business appointing anyone to Obama’s seat when he is in the process of being impeached for selling that seat to begin with. Would you let a doctor continue to practice medicine while he is on trial for malpractice? Of course not! So why should Gov. Blagojevitch have the authority to do any legitimate state business when he is being prosecuted?

Roland Burris should’ve been smart enough not to even accept the position to begin with because of the controversy behind it. If he had been sworn in to that seat, people would’ve thought he was just the highest bidder rather that was the case or not. He would’ve been looked upon as a crook. He shouldn’t be disappointed, he should be relieved. Whoever fills that seat is going to have an uphill battle.

Roland Burris was denied the seat because he didn’t have proper credentials. Apparently Nancy Erickson, Secretary of the Senate, rejected them because he did not have the required signature and seal. Of course, Mr. Burris is so brain dead that he is going to push this. Dianne Feinstein, in the tradition of Democrats, has already flip flopped on the issue saying Gov. Blagojevitch criminal charges won’t taint his appointment even though she had said it would earlier.

Of course it will! The whole thing is utterly ridiculous and instead of appointing anyone to the seat, a special election should be held and the voters should decide. Not only that it should be the law, if you are going to run for President-regardless of whether you win or lose-you resign as Senator, Congressman, whatever and give people a chance to elect a new official. There should’ve been a new Senator two years ago when Obama announced he was running for President.

In the meantime, I applaud Nancy Erickson for not allowing Gov. Blagojevitch to appoint anyone to this important position, since he has already demonstrated his ability to play fast and loose with the law. God bless Nancy for still respecting it.

7 thoughts on “Roland Burris Denied Senate Seat

  1. Have mercy. Any more this is my response to the madness that is sure to come in the days ahead. However they had to do something to appear like they really have integrity. They have let everyone else that had slime on their hands get by with stuff. Had they seated him it would have been everywhere. Their popularity would be even worse than it already is. They did not do this for anything other than a feeble attempt to save their faces. I pray that NV will send Harry Reid back home to play with his grandchildren.

    SMH.

  2. Oh I know the Democrats as a whole are doing this to save face. I don’t know that much about Nancy Erickson so I was giving her the benefit of the doubt that she was actually doing the right thing because it is the right thing. The rest of them like Dianne Feinstein and Harry Reid, well I wouldn’t trust them as far as I could throw them.

    Associating with Obama seems to be a career killer. It is amazing how everyone around him seems to be coming up on criminal charges. And you know Obama is right there in the smack of it all yet somehow, like Clinton before him, he gets away with it unscathed. I wonder who will end up being Obama’s Vincent Foster.

  3. I agree. This may be pretty dreadful to watch. Talk about a train wreck.

    Sidebar: I am not that old but old enough to remember how weird I thought the flower children were in the 60s. I was old enough to remember how they looked like they were wearing their pajamas but too young to know the way they were living at the time. The government was supposed to fix everything. The military was evil. Business was evil. What you are seeing in Congress are the flower children as senior citizens running our country.

    I am sincerely praying for a heart change. At least Jon Voight got a clue and changed his views as he got older.

  4. Yeah, I missed the flower power generation myself. I was born in 1970. But I was raised by them. My parents were very much hippies. And as I kept trying to live my life that way, I kept running into walls. If free love was all that great, why did I always feel so dirty and suicidal afterwards? If men were so evil, why did I always find it easier to befriend them even without the sexual component then I did with women? Nothing they said ever fit. If being a “cog in the corporate machinery” was so demeaning why did I get such a huge kick and plenty of joy out of being just a “secretary?” As time went on, I began to see my values change and I wasn’t liberal. I was a conservative. That was a shock. But now I could never go back to being a liberal again. And if me and Robert Downey Jr., can see the light, anyone can. LOL

    I just hope more people do because if they don’t we are going to find ourselves repeating history. The gays love to talk up Rome and its acceptance of homosexuality back then but what they conveniently forget is the fall. We are headed for the fall if we don’t reclaim the values that made this country great. God bless you Pamela and thanks for your continuing support of my blog.

  5. I disagree. They have not yet indicted Blagojevich. He is still the sitting Governor of Illinois. Much as I disagree with his politics and his tendency to flout the law, he is the duly elected Governor of the State of Illinois. That being the case, it is his duty (in leiu of a special election, which the politicians have refused to allow) to make the the appointment.

    The state of Illinois is constitutionally required and entitled to two sitting senators in the congress. Those representatives
    must not be selected by the sitting US Senate but, by the people of the State of Illinois, as represented by the elected Governor.

    Harry Reed and his peers in the Senate as well as officials in the State of Illinois have decided to flout the Law (The US Constitution, article 1 – section 3) as is their habit in situations they find inconvenient.

    Timely, convenient, practical, or not: By law, Roland Burris has been appointed by Blagojevich to the US Senate. He must be seated forthwith, in spite of Mr. Reed and his troop of King Makers.

  6. Last I heard Burris will be confirmed. Legally Blago can appoint him as he is still the governor and has not been found guilty of the crime- as of yet. So he get’s away with a legal technicality.

    What annoys me is that if Burris had any integrity he wouldn’t have accepted the appointment! Does he not realize that his position is now tainted, or does he just not care? But what really gets under my skin is how people are now trying to say that its a racist move to not confirm Burris. Seriously?

  7. Hey Kenny, I have to agree with Zabeth on this one. It is not whether it he has the authority or not at this point, it is that Burris should have more integrity and ethics than to want to associate himself with a man of this caliber. He should’ve refused it altogether. By accepting it, he make himself look like a crook. But if that is what Illinois wants-more power to them. Much like Cali, Illi is a joke anyway!

Leave a Reply

