California / Marriage / Mormon/Christian

A Modern Day Mormon Heroine

I was going to write about the persecution of my friend, Marjorie  (Margie) Christofferson, who has been targeted by the gay community for giving 100 bucks to the Yes on Prop 8 campaign.  But instead of talking about their hatred which we have seen displayed so clearly I want to talk about Margie.

el-coyote2

Margie is a wonderful, beautiful older woman in my ward. She owns El Coyote Mexican restaurant,  a big gay hang out in Los Angeles.  Even though she doesn’t agree with their lifestyle she has never discriminated against any of them.  And I know through my church relationship with her she has been nothing but kind, thoughtful and always willing to lend a helping hand.  She is the first one to pitch in whenever we have an event.  She was even willing to lend her house for a Relief Society party that because of circumstances beyond anyone’s control had to be canceled. She participates in the Relief Society discussion always giving a fresh perspective on the Gospel.

Margie is tall and sleek.  She has a most regal air about her.  She has a smile that lights up a room.  She is the epitome of grace and intelligence.  Until this recent event I didn’t even know she owned El Coyote-that is because she doesn’t feel the need to brag or boast about her own accomplishments. She is humble and without an ounce of pretentiousness about her.  I always liked and admired her, but these recent events have deepened that.  Every time I see her, I smile, give her a hug, maybe a chat for awhile.  But I had no idea of the true character of this remarkable woman until the other day.

At the press conference she gave, the gay community were trying to force her to give money to the NO on Prop 8 campaign (Hello! It is over, what good would it do now? As long as we are going to give money to obsolete causes, why not pony up some cash for the Build the Titanic fund as well?  After all, that ended up sinking too!) yet she said she would not.  She would not apologize for standing by her beliefs and as upset as she was, she still stayed true to the Gospel.  So the boycott was on.  If she wasn’t going to apologize, if she wasn’t going to give money to their cause, if she was going to stand up to their bullying, well she was going to have to pay.  It would’ve been easy just to give into what they wanted and not sacrifice her livelihood.  Yet she was willing to do just that to follow her faith.

A friend of mine told me today that he heard someone say, “Today we are all Mormons.”  That touched me, but not as much as Margie’s courage and strength in the face of personal adversity.  To know such a woman is truly an honor.  You don’t meet many great people in your life, they are a rarity.  I have pledged to do whatever I can to help her get through this. If Margie is willing to sacrifice so much for what she believes, the least I can do is support her and stand by her.  The people who are vilifying her don’t even begin to know what kind of wonderful person they are hurting.  They will never have the moral fortitude to looks such heated opposition in the eye and not blink.  They will never be as good, forgiving or loving as my good friend Margie Christofferson. May God watch over her now.  May all those who supported Prop. 8 support her now.  She given so much for us, it is time to pay her back.

48 thoughts on “A Modern Day Mormon Heroine

  1. Gays are boycotting El Coyote because Margie donated money (earned from their gay dining dollars) to support taking away the civil rights of gays. It seems pretty obvious to me that if you support gay rights, you wouldn’t want to support businesses that use their profits to take your rights away. How is choosing not to eat at a restaurant is “persecuting” its owner is beyond me. Having your marriage taken away by the government–now that sounds like real persecution.

  2. Margie donated her money she earned running her restaurant, what do you want her to do separate the “gay” money from the “straight” money and only use the “straight” money to support Prop 8? How would she do that? Now, when McDonalds went all pro-gay, I stopped eating there. Since they were supporting a cause I didn’t believe in I didn’t give them my money until they stopped. However, I didn’t protest outside of McDonald’s. I didn’t harass McDonald’s employees or its franchise owners. I just stopped eating there. I signed a petition vowing I would not eat there until McDonald’s came back to its senses and sent one letter to the headquarters. I didn’t name call, even though McDonald’s called us bigots initially. I just did what I had to do. There is nothing wrong with speaking with your checkbook, but maligning her character and trying to force her to go back on her convictions is wrong. With McDonald’s I didn’t try to force them to go back on what they believed but I stood by what I believed too. It is not the “protesting” that bothers me. It is the blatant hostility that is being meted out by the gay activists that is upsetting. It is the calling to burn churches, it is the threats, it is the looking into financial backers of Prop 8, it is the mean-spirited tactics that are being used to instill fear into those who believe marriage is between a man and a woman that is inexcusable. Nothing was taken away from the gays, domestic partnerships still exist. But my church is being threatened with arson of our temples, with people trying to get our tax exempt status removed, with sending hate mail to my Prophet. We are Mormons, we have survived persecution before, we will do so again.

  3. blacknright,

    You are Mormons, and you have survived persecution before (in part because members of your faith practiced a form of marriage that most people din’t approve of in the 19th century). Now you Mormons are persecuting others (gays) who practice a form of marriage that most people don’t approve of. Thank god that attitudes about gay rights are changing among the young people that are the future.

    No one is burning down temples, and people are merely exercising their first amendment rights to protest. El Coyote has a substantial gay clientele, so it feels like a real slap in the face to that clientele to learn that the owner uses her profits to actively oppose gay civil rights.

  4. First of all, I said we have nutjobs threatening to burn down temples, not that they are actually burning. God protects his houses! Next Margie did this as a private citizen not on behalf of El Coyote. Do you ask your boss how to spend your money? What organizations you can and can’t give it to? Well then why does Margie have to seek permission to do the same? Pepsi Cola has decided to more fully fund the gay agenda in this country. So I guess it is a good thing as a Mormon I don’t drink Pepsi already. But that is Pepsi making a unilateral decision for all their customers about supporting gay rights. This is one individual who didn’t make it on behalf of El Coyote. She is entitled to a life outside her business. Besides this is Los Angeles, every business has a substantial gay clientele. What would you want her to do? Refuse their business because she didn’t agree with their lifestyle, well then she would be hit with a discrimination suit. Would you want her to ask everyone coming in her restaurant if they are straight or gay? How Nazi would that be? Instead she serves everyone, regardless of color, sex, sexual preference, whatever. But just because she serves gays doesn’t mean she has to agree with their political viewpoint and doesn’t mean she has to support their causes.

    In closing, you can’t compare polygamy with gay marriage. Polygamy has been sanctioned by God throughout biblical history. Gay marriage never has. Polygamy is still a man and woman marrrying and having children. Gay marriage produces nothing-its sterile. Marriage has never been called an abomination by the Lord. Homosexuality has. Traditional marriage is never a sin. Homosexuality is always a sin. So even though I am not a fan of polygamy and would never advocate for it, it does have one thing going for it. We have a history to base whether or not to practice polygamy, as well as a religious basis for it as well. We have neither of those things with gay marriage and gay marriage will in fact, hurt those of faith. You only have to look at Massachusetts to see how people who object to same sex marriage are treated. This is about protecting our religious liberties. Not about hating gays.

  5. Todd, I just wanted to say this, though me and you disagree fundamentally on this issue, it still has been a pleasure to talk to you. You have shown class, integrity and respect. That is all I am asking for for Margie. It is the vindictiveness, blatant and open hostility and the scare tactics that I disapprove of. If the other side acted more like you, I wouldn’t have such a problem. We could disagree but still treat each other civilly. I don’t think that is too much to ask and just from your comments I can see you are a man of good character and think you would at least agree on that point. God bless you.

  6. blacknright.

    can i repost this on my blog?

    i’d really like to help marjorie.

    this is beautiful.

    i saw the video of the press conference. i had to to turn it off– it made me so sad. so much ugliness against one woman.

  7. I live in North Carolina, but I wish I lived there so I could eat at your restaurant and tell you personally how much I admire you. Stand your ground and know that you are not in this alone. May God bless you.

  8. Pingback: A post about Margie of the El Coyote Boycott « Sweat Tears Or The Sea: Prop 8 Edition

  9. Boycotting is as American as apple pie or the bald eagle. Just as you admit you boycotted McDonald’s, gay people have every right to boycott El Coyote. The “persecution” charge is laughable. Just because you personally didn’t stand in front of McDonald’s with signs doesn’t mean anything. Many Christians have stood in front of businesses they didn’t approve of on moral grounds, waving signs and chanting. There’s nothing wrong with that.
    And there’s nothing wrong with us doing it either.

    “We are Mormons, we have survived persecution before, we will do so again.”

    You guys are fine. No one’s trying to take away your rights. It is us who are being persecuted by you. If gay marriage is legal literally NOTHING in your lives will change. Your objection to gay marriage is based on a belief system that others don’t share. What gives you the right to insist others follow your belief system? The arrogance is breath-taking.

    But since you brought it up, I want you to imagine for a minute if you discovered that some religious leader at your church donated money to Planned Parenthood or GLAAD or No on 8. Would you continue to tithe at your church? Fund his pocketbook so he could fund causes that you don’t believe in? Would it matter to you if he objected and said “I did this as a private citizen, not as a representative of the church!” If you can honestly answer that you would not try to get this man fired, then feel free to criticize people for trying to get Margie fired. Otherwise, try to understand that there are people in the world who don’t believe as you do, and they deserve rights as well.

  10. First of all, you didn’t read the rest of the comments about McDonald’s, yes I did protest McDonald’s but I didn’t harass anyone in the process. I also protested over $23,000 they gave to Gay and Lesbian Chamber of Commerce not 100 bucks.I m not that petty.

    Next you don’t know how the Mormon Church works. No one but the Prophet gets any money from the church for their calling. Not the Bishops, not the Stake President, no one. So if the Stake President wants to give money to Planned Parenthood, that is his choice but it is not coming out of my tithing! And since no one gets paid no one can get “fired.” And I sure couldn’t get him or her out of their calling because I don’t have the priesthood authority to do so, that is left up to the bishopric and stake presidency.

  11. “Harassment” is an opinion. So, you’re fine with gays protesting El Coyote, but not with “harassment”? Many people would consider protesting in general to be harassment. I don’t consider yelling “shame shame shame” to be harassment, any more than when a religious person does it in front of McDonald’s or anywhere else. Unlike you, I don’t think people should be forbidden from doing something that I don’t personally approve of. And I’m sorry, but quibbling on the dollar amount is incredibly petty. It’s the principal. Margie presented herself as a friend of gay people. We all knew her faith, and loved her anyway, and would never vote to take her rights away. When we discovered she didn’t feel the same it was a betrayal that I bet you’ve never experienced.

    And you’re right, I don’t know the terminology of the Mormon church or how the whole thing works. But you hid behind my lack of knowledge of the proper wording in order to avoid the question. So I’ll ask again. Would you object to a Stake President donating his own money to Planned Parenthood? Do you think that he should be excommunicated, or should it not matter because it’s his own personal money?

  12. And for the record, I don’t approve of threats of violence on the church either. However, those are the actions of a tiny minority of people and don’t represent gays who are protesting in general. (Just as people of faith who blow up abortion clinics and kill doctors don’t represent most believers)

  13. There is a way to protest without being hateful. You shut up and stop going. If they don’t want to support her, that is fine because there are people who will. But the hate directed her way is uncalled for and a sign of an immature mind.
    I have stood on the street quietly holding signs but never felt the need to use anger while doing so. Even when anger was directed at me.

    Next, I don’t have to worry about my leaders giving to organizations that are contrary to the church’s teaching because the bishopric handles that when a member wants to become temple worthy. So if it was found out a member had lied about it and entered the temple they would be wishing for ex-communication. Would I quit the church over it? NO! When I first returned to the church after a five year hiatus, no one talked to me for like six months. Did I leave the church? No. I made a decision then and there no matter what happened, no matter if no one talked to me ever, I wasn’t going to leave Christ and his church. It is not about the leaders, though I have a tremendous amount of respect for them, it is about deepening my relationship with Christ and returning to Heavenly Father.

    Lastly there have only been 7 murders done by the hands of pro-lifers. There have been 1,251 homicides by pro-choicers. There have been 157 attempted homicides and 28 firebombings and arsons. So who are truly the violent ones? And lets not forget the 50 million dead babies. So don’t try bringing up pro-lifers bombing clinics as if it is a common occurrence because they don’t even register a blip on the radar screen. However pro-choicers murdering for their cause is not only common but their only solution.

  14. I would like to know where you get your statistics regarding deaths of prolifers vs death of pro-choicers. Because they sound entirely made up.

    And again, holding signs and chanting is not “hateful”. You guys do it too.

    Sigh. This is pointless. You think anything you people do is justified and anything we do is “hateful” and wrong, even when it’s the exact same thing.

  15. “When I first returned to the church after a five year hiatus, no one talked to me for like six months.”

    *Shudder*. Yeah, nothing hateful about that.

  16. I got my statistics from Human Life International, who have it all documented. Next about the church, you missed the point. The point is I am there for me, not anyone else. To be fair, I could’ve talked to people, but I didn’t. So I am just as responsible for that situation as anyone else. Lastly, we don’t go to church because we are perfect, we go because we are not. It is a learning experience for all of us. And while it took some time for me and the Church to become family, that is where we are all now and how we got there is not as important as the love I have received and continue to receive as a member of the church.

    I would also like to apologize for the abortion bombing thing, I know you were trying to say those people are not indicative of those who believe in Christ but bombing a building is not the same thing as killing an unborn child. And I tire of people caring more about buildings than babies. But that is my own thing and I should not have taken it out on you, I apologize.

  17. Maybe since the Pro life cause is so important to you (I”m prolife too, BTW) you might understand how the gay marriage issue is equally important to a lot of gay people. What you see as being “mean spirited”, we see as being justifiable fury and sadness upon discovering that someone we *thought* was our friend has turned out to have been against us all along.

  18. Then you have a shallow view of friendship. I am friends with a fellow member who opposes Prop 8 and as much as that confuses me, I am still his friend. Because I don’t have to agree with everything my friends think or do. In the end, he is going to have to justify his stance with Jesus, not with me. So if you can only be friends with people who think exactly like you, that is pretty sad. My family for the most part is liberal and Democrats. I am not. So do I stop loving them and supporting them because of that? Most certainly not. However, given a choice I will choose God over anyone, even myself. If it means sacrificing my life or disappointing God, there is no contest. It is a shame the other side can’t respect that. Oh BTW, went to El Coyote today. Had a nice time. Will go again.

  19. Uh huh. And if you had a friend that donated money to a cause that would shut down the Mormon church would you still be their friend? You still don’t get it, do you? I have lots of Republican friends (even gay Republicans which confuses me as much as your no on 8 friend confuses you) and religious friends with whom I disagree with on a variety of political issues. But if they look at me as an inferior being not worthy of equal rights, I’m damn sure not going to be their friend. How could I respect myself otherwise? I’m sure you would do the same thing if you knew someone who was against equal rights for Mormons.

    “Oh BTW, went to El Coyote today. Had a nice time. Will go again.”

    Weren’t you worried about sitting near all those disgusting homos?

  20. Weren’t you worried about sitting near all those disgusting homos?

    If I can have a child by one, sitting next to one isn’t going to bother me. And I love it how you have used the derogatory slur here as if that is what I think. It must be your truth since you are the one who said it.

    And you can sit there and say it is about equal rights-it is not. It is simply adolescent rebellion, nothing more. For people who say they want the adult responsibility of marriage and children you guys are acting more like infants than my son did when he was that age. Grow up, show some real respect (for it is earned not given) and then maybe we will believe your community is more than a bunch of intolerant hotheads who throw tantrums when they don’t get their own way.

    Also, your comment about being friends with someone who thinks I am inferior, well the point is moot. From the little I have seen with those with superiority complexes, they don’t befriend inferior people. So I don’t have to worry about my friends thinking I’m inferior because they wouldn’t be my friend otherwise. So that takes care of itself doesn’t it?

  21. So now your true colors come out. How dare you call me a child when you don’t know a damn thing about me. How dare you paint an entire group of people with one brush stroke. You call me “intolerant”? I’m not the one trying to hurt anyone else you smug, condescending, pious hypocrite! I know you would just *love* for us to all toe the line and sit quietly on our hands and hope really hard that you loonies–who believe in magic underwear and that black people are cursed and act like three-year-olds by giving the silent treatment to people for SIX MONTHS–will come to accept us someday. Those days are over, lady. We’re not going to settle anymore. You call me names for simply wanting equal treatment? Fine. Call me any name you want. Sticks and stones. I’m used to it. You will lose this fight. Humanity evolves. People get smarter. Californians under 30 voted overwhelmingly against 8. The old will die off and I’ll be there to see it. Hopefully you will too.

    “If I can have a child by one, sitting next to one isn’t going to bother me.”

    Pretty much says it all, doesn’t it? If gay marriage had been legal, maybe your poor closeted husband wouldn’t have felt compelled to live a lie which undoubtedly caused you both a lot of pain. Too bad you’re too dense to get that.

  22. I didn’t call you a child, I said the behavior of the gay community of late has been childish. When the Blacks protested the treatment of bus companies back in the day, they simply stopped taking buses. They didn’t try to get into the financial records of those who supported the back of the bus policy. After a year the bus companies were in financial jeopardy because of their boycott. When AFA boycotted Ford, it was personal and silent. People stopped buying Fords. Don Wildmon didn’t post the names of anyone who had bought a Ford. After about 3 or so years Ford backed down. What you are not getting is that boycotts work best when they are felt but not seen. It means more.

    Next, my “poor closeted husband” (which he is neither-closeted nor my husband) voted yes on Prop 8. He did so out of his own beliefs, not because of me. I think it is presumptuous you would think because he is gay he automatically wants gay marriage. He understands there are bigger things at stake then glorifying his choice of lifestyle. But thank you for assuming I was married, that was really sweet and honorable. But yes, even a single mother can be a staunch defender of marriage-ironic but true.

    In closing, whether or not you are trying to hurt anyone, you are. Mostly yourself. But you are also hurting children who are being force fed that homosexuality is some benign lifestyle choice-it is not. There are physical and psychological ramifications that must be addressed. There are a host of diseases that are gay men only diseases. Gays have a higher domestic abuse in their relationship per their population numbers. Even in the Netherlands, where homosexual marriage is legal and there is a general acceptance of homosexuality, gays still suffer more mental health problems. I am not going to sit on my heads and pretend like these issues are not there because it hurts your feelings. I care more about the lives and souls of those afflicted with this then I do your feelings. So bash away all you want to. Because it sounds like you are the one in pain. Not me. I have God, Jesus Christ and the Holy Spirit to fill my life and take away all my pain, do you?

  23. Ryan, calm down for a minute and examine what you are saying. It sounds really emotional (which only strengthens blacknrights comments).

    a. she wasn’t calling you a child– she said you were acting like one. maybe she’s wrong but i’m not disturbed by any “true colors” showing in her comments.

    the fact is that marriage as a “right” is under debate.some people think its a right, but it doesn’t make it true (or untrue). the majority of californians believe that marriage is a privelege (it’s always been exclusive, its definition is supposed to exclusive).
    if you disagree with blacknright and the majority of ca– then you need to converse and engage in discussion. instead of saying they are intolerant, pious, hypocrite, etc.

    b. you show yourself as a hypocrite for “paint[ing] an entire group of people with one brush stroke.” (maybe you were being facetious when you accuse mormons of wearing magic underwear, their beliefs about black people, and giving people the silent treatment. )
    i. their “magic underwear” is a symbolic gesture of their commitment and covenants made to God. The garments reflect symbolically the protection of the covenants made.
    Catholic priests wear a similar idea of garments which express their commitments to God. Mormons just wear them underneath their clothing as opposed to outside (again symbolizing their sacred and personal nature).

    ii. Mormons have never had segregated congregations. in fact they suffered persecution in Missouri because they were seen as abolitionists (since they believed black people were equal to white people). The curse of cain is in the bible. go here for more info:

    http://lds.about.com/gi/dynamic/offsite.htm?site=http://web.archive.org/web/20001209054500/mormons.org/response/qa/blacks%5Fprejudice.htm

    iii. i’m not sure if you’ve ever been to a mormon church, but from my experience, especially the LA area, the wards are rather large. If someone is new…its easy for them to get “lost in the crowd” at first. I would be VERY surprised if anyone at her ward was intentionally not talking to her. Sometimes people are unaware of certain situations. If anything it was on account of social awkwardness– which doesn’t make it okay– but again, that doesn’t mean it was driven by hate.

    iv. Throwing insults only exposes your own pain. Personally, I’m sorry for your pain. i wish I could do something to make it better. I cannot, however, sacrifice a child’s right to a mom and a dad. I think government should do everything it can to protect this right. Keeping the traditional definition of marriage helps.

    v. you are right that young people voted for this. however, i would suggest that they voted “no” because they may not have children or be married. they may not have a full understanding of what marriage implies. I certainly hope our society continues to do everything it can to provide a mom and a dad for its children.

  24. p.s. sorry for the tangent into mormon doctrine issues.

    i think its interesting how the opposition first uses the mormons as a scapegoat (even though they are less than 2% if the population), and then when it feels a lack of argument– starts spouting rumors and unfair accusations about the religion.

    i can’t help but explain, but i do apologize for the large amount of space spent clarifying the mormon religion.

  25. “i think its interesting how the opposition first uses the mormons as a scapegoat (even though they are less than 2% if the population), and then when it feels a lack of argument– starts spouting rumors and unfair accusations about the religion.”

    That’s not what happened here at all. I’ve made my argument pretty clear and no one has been able to refute it at all. I turned to rude comments about Mormons out of anger, I admit because blacknright had been so insulting in her post. I lost my head, and I regret it.

    “There are a host of diseases that are gay men only diseases. Gays have a higher domestic abuse in their relationship per their population numbers. Even in the Netherlands, where homosexual marriage is legal and there is a general acceptance of homosexuality, gays still suffer more mental health problems.”

    These things are all untrue. Flat-out untrue. I would like for you to name a disease that only gay men have. I would like you to site a statistic that didn’t come from a biased religious source with an agenda. And, even if it were true (it isn’t) would that not indicate that God is fine with lesbians, since lesbians have the least STD’s of anyone?

    “When the Blacks protested the treatment of bus companies back in the day, they simply stopped taking buses. They didn’t try to get into the financial records of those who supported the back of the bus policy. After a year the bus companies were in financial jeopardy because of their boycott. When AFA boycotted Ford, it was personal and silent. People stopped buying Fords. Don Wildmon didn’t post the names of anyone who had bought a Ford. After about 3 or so years Ford backed down. What you are not getting is that boycotts work best when they are felt but not seen. It means more.”

    Again, mostly untrue. Obviously, there was no internet, no way to easily acquire or “post” the names of people. And your metaphor is flawed because we’re not posting the names of everyone who ate at El Coyote or Leatherby’s anyway. What you are not getting is that of course boycotts must be heard or they are not possible. Do you think that large groups of people who don’t even know each other are all going to *silently* agree to boycott a business? Obviously, people must get the word out, or no one will even know who to boycott. This is not a difficult concept.

    “Next, my “poor closeted husband” (which he is neither-closeted nor my husband) voted yes on Prop 8. He did so out of his own beliefs, not because of me. I think it is presumptuous you would think because he is gay he automatically wants gay marriage”

    I…don’t even know where to go with that. A gay person who’s against gay marriage is only worthy of pity.

  26. “I would like for you to name a disease that only gay men have. I would like you to site a statistic that didn’t come from a biased religious source with an agenda.”

    Ryan I’m friends with a doctor and we’ve had this discussion before . He said that there are many diseases which are virtually unseen anywhere else, but are very common in those who participate in homosexual behavior.

    We don’t really hear about these very often. If gay marriage is made law– then I would hope these are discussed openly in health education classes.

    From page 7:
    ” The list of diseases found with
    extraordinary frequency among male homosexual
    practitioners as a result of anal intercourse is
    alarming:
    Anal Cancer
    Chlamydia trachomatis
    Cryptosporidium
    Giardia lamblia
    Herpes simplex virus
    Human immunodeficiency virus
    Human papilloma virus
    Isospora belli
    Microsporidia
    Gonorrhea
    Viral hepatitis types B & C
    Syphilis (footnote 25)

    “Sexual transmission of some of these diseases
    is so rare in the exclusively heterosexual
    population as to be virtually unknown. Others,
    while found among heterosexual and homosexual
    practitioners, are clearly predominated by
    those involved in homosexual activity. Syphilis,
    for example is found among heterosexual and
    homosexual practitioners. But in 1999, King
    County, Washington (Seattle), reported that 85
    percent of syphilis cases were among self-identified
    homosexual practitioners.26 And as noted
    above, syphilis among homosexual men is now
    at epidemic levels in San Francisco. footnote 27″

    from page 8:
    “Men who have sex with men account for the
    lion’s share of the increasing number of cases in
    America of sexually transmitted infections that
    are not generally spread through sexual contact.
    These diseases, with consequences that range
    from severe and even life-threatening to mere
    annoyances, include
    Hepatitis A,36
    Giardia lamblia,
    Entamoeba histolytica,37
    Epstein-Barr virus,38
    Neisseria meningitides,39
    Shigellosis,
    Salmonellosis, Pediculosis, scabies and
    Campylobacter.40

    sources:
    25
    Anne Rompalo, “Sexually Transmitted Causes of
    Gastrointestinal Symptoms in Homosexual Men,” Medical
    Clinics of North America, 74(6): 1633-1645 (November 1990);

    “Anal Health for Men and Women,” LGBTHealthChannel,
    http://www.gayhealthchannel.com/analhealth/; “Safer Sex (MSM)
    for Men who Have Sex with Men,” LGBTHealthChannel,
    http://www.gayhealthchannel.com/stdmsm/.

    26
    “Resurgent Bacterial Sexually Transmitted Disease
    Among Men Who Have Sex With Men—King County,
    Washington, 1997-1999,” Morbidity and Mortality Weekly
    Report, CDC, 48(35): 773-777 (September 10, 1999).

    27
    Heredia, “Big spike in cases of syphilis in S.F.: Gay, bisexual
    men affected most.”

    35
    Ibid.; E. K. Markell, et al., “Intestinal Parasitic Infections
    in Homosexual Men at a San Francisco Health Fair,”
    Western Journal of Medicine, 139(2): 177-178 (August, 1983).

    36
    “Hepatitis A among Homosexual Men—United States,
    Canada, and Australia,” Morbidity and Mortality Weekly
    Report, CDC, 41(09): 155, 161-164 (March 06, 1992).

    37
    Anne Rompalo, “Sexually Transmitted
    Gastrointestinal Symptoms in HomosexualMen.” Medical
    Clinics of North America, 74(6): 1640

    38
    H. Naher, B. Lenhard, et al., “Detection of Epstein-Barr
    virus DNA in anal scrapings from HIV-positive homosexual
    men,” Archives of Dermatological Research, 287(6): 608-
    611, Abstract (1995).

    This article also discusses lesbians’ high risk for stds. It’s from a “biased” source (but I think everything has an agenda– but even with biased sources they give the references. I’m sure I could find more if you need them.)

    here is the article link:

    http://www.corporateresourcecouncil.org/white_papers/Health_Risks.pdf

  27. Are you trying to claim that heterosexuals don’t get AIDS? It’s true that there is a higher percentage chance of a gay man contracting HIV because their is a higher risk involved in the type of sex involved. The next highest chance is a straight women, then a straight man, then a gay woman (who has a very small chance of contracting HIV). So I guess we can reach one of two conclusions: Either A) it is most “morally correct” to be a lesbian or B) AIDS has nothing to do with morality at all.

    Take your pick.

  28. Wow, Ryan you are just determined not to see anything negative about homosexuality. Blacks get sickle cell, Asians and White women get osteoporosis, all women can get breast cancer, men get prostate cancer. Yet obviously disease only affects the rest of the human population based on who they are and what they do-but not the gays, never the gays. Never mind even Matt Foreman, the former head of the National Gay and Lesbian Task Force, has even called HIV a gay disease, we must stand firm in our denial that it is even if it kills every last gay man on the planet!

    And while lesbians may not get HIV from their type of sex, they get a host of other diseases.So there rate of infection is not all that low either. In any case, while I really appreciate you generating so much interest to my site, I mean my numbers have shot up dramatically since you came along and I will forever be grateful for you sparking it up, I am going to have to bid you a fond adieu. Have a wonderful life, be happy and I will continue to pray for you. Take care.

  29. I tried to send this before but i don’t think it went through.

    My brother is a doctor and says that there is host of diseases and medical problems among homosexual men that are very rare among heterosexual people:

    The list of diseases found with extraordinary frequency among male homosexual practitioners as a result of anal intercourse:

    Anal Cancer (at the time of this study 10 times more likely than heterosexual men).
    Chlamydia trachomatis
    Cryptosporidium
    Giardia lamblia
    Herpes simplex virus
    Human immunodeficiency virus
    Human papilloma virus
    Isospora belli
    Microsporidia
    Gonorrhea
    Viral hepatitis types B & C
    Syphilis (footnote 25)

    Sexual transmission of some of these diseases is so rare in the exclusively heterosexual population as to be virtually unknown. Others, while found among heterosexual and homosexual practitioners, are clearly predominated by those involved in homosexual activity.

    25
    Anne Rompalo, “Sexually Transmitted Causes of Gastrointestinal Symptoms in Homosexual Men,” Medical Clinics of North America, 74(6): 1633-1645 (November 1990);

    “Anal Health for Men and Women,” LGBTHealthChannel, http://www.gayhealthchannel.com/analhealth/; “Safer Sex (MSM) for Men who Have Sex with Men,” LGBTHealthChannel, http://www.gayhealthchannel.com/stdmsm/.

    Men who have sex with men account for the lion’s share of the increasing number of cases in America of sexually transmitted infections that are not generally spread through sexual contact. These diseases, with consequences that range from severe and even life-threatening to mere annoyances, include

    Hepatitis A,36
    Giardia lamblia, Entamoeba histolytica, 37
    Epstein-Barr virus,38
    Neisseria meningitides,39
    Shigellosis, Salmonellosis, Pediculosis, scabies and Campylobacter.40

    36
    “Hepatitis A among Homosexual Men — United States, Canada, and Australia,” Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report, CDC, 41(09): 155, 161-164 (March 06, 1992).

    37
    Anne Rompalo, “Sexually Transmitted Causes of Gastrointestinal Symptoms in Homosexual Men,” Medical Clinics of North America, 74(6): 1640.

    38
    H. Naher, B. Lenhard, et al., “Detection of Epstein-Barr virus DNA in anal scrapings from HIV-positive homosexual men,” Archives of Dermatological Research, 287(6): 608- 611, Abstract (1995).

    39
    B. L. Carlson, N. J. Fiumara, et al., “Isolation of Neisseria meningitidis from anogenital specimens from homosexual men,” Sexually Transmitted Diseases, 7(2): 71-73 (April 1980).

    40
    P. Paulet and G. Stoffels, “Maladies anorectales sexuellement transmissibles” ["Sexually-Transmissible Anorectal Diseases"], Revue Medicale Bruxelles, 10(8): 327-334, Abstract (October 10, 1989).

    http://www.catholiceducation.org/articles/homosexuality/ho0075.html

    “biased” source but i’m more interested in its sources. i didn’t have time to wade through a bunch of separate medical studies.

  30. what cocoon? that society should privilege a relationship that provides everything needed to raise childrem (without any outside help from the government) in order to ensure survival of society?

    that doesn’t sound like a cocoon. that sounds like a good discussion.

    and i don’t think that the studies and high statistics about very rare (tropical) diseases (usually only found in 3rd word countries because of sewage issues) are lying. those statistics don’t even cover the physical damage that gay sex causes.

    health issues are a concern to society. people should be informed. especially young people.

  31. Very good point Ruby Eliot, I don’t know if it is amusing, sad or scary how deep in the denial the gay community is about the diseases that seem to affect it. They seem not to want to hear about the health risks involved in homosexuality.

    It seems unreasonable to call them lies simply because you don’t like the facts. I am not particularly thrilled that because I waited so long to have a child that I have increased my risk for breast cancer. I am not happy that because I had gestational diabetes that I have increased my risk for acquiring adult onset diabetes later on. I am not thrilled knowing my extra weight also carries severe health risks. Now I can acknowledge those facts and do something about them. Or I can simply go on and do what I am doing now. It is my choice. But to state because I don’t like these facts that they are blatant lies is intellectual dishonesty and shows emotional immaturity.

    God bless you and we need to get the truth out there, because the lives of our young who are being drawn into this lifestyle are worth saving.

  32. Ryan, only someone with a diseased heart and mind would receive any ounce of joy from someone’s else’s pain. This does nothing more than indicate how shallow, ruthless and cold you truly are. You don’t even know the woman but you are willing to sacrifice her on the altar of political correctness because of 100 bucks. Oh yeah, you are such a warrior for what is right…..NOT!!

    But I believe in Biblical Karma-that is what you give out you get back seven times over. So you will receive a trial in which you will be vilified over nothing and it will be seven times worse. I hope you are ready for it. But just remember you callous heart brought it upon yourself.

  33. “Ryan, only someone with a diseased heart and mind would receive any ounce of joy from someone’s else’s pain.”

    So either you didn’t celebrate when Prop 8 passed, or if you did, you have a diseased heart and mind as well. Because believe me, there was a lot of pain that day.

  34. No, I didn’t celebrate because I lost more than I gained. I lost the White House, I lost both Houses of Representatives, I lost Proposition 4 which would’ve safeguarded girls from unscrupulous abortionists. So no I was not celebrating that day I was on the verge of tears all day long as I saw the Obama victory getting closer and closer. But even with all defeat handed to me did I act like a fool? No, I did not! You lost one thing, I lost everything and still I acted like a responsible adult. It is called handling defeat with grace. Yes, I was in pain but I didn’t go and take that pain out on others. I didn’t invade the records of those who voted against Prop 4 and blast them all over the internet. I didn’t intimidate all those who voted for Obama and Prop 4. I said to myself, this sucks so what can I do to win the next time around, because that is how adults handle defeat! Whiny crybabies have temper tantrums and blame everyone else for what is lacking in themselves and then try to take down God’s churches. I could’ve gone after the more liberal churches but I don’t need to they are digging their own grave! Elohim will deal with those false believers. All I have to do is to continue to follow Jesus and I will be okay. Like always Jesus got me through the pain of that night because that is what he does!

  35. Actually it shows your ignorance not ours. Marriage has NEVER been defined as a sexual relationship between any two people. If that is the case, why can’t a mother and son marry as long as they are of age and are consenting to the marriage? Why can’t two elderly sisters get married? That was actually was a case in the last year. If two women can get married, why can’t two sisters? If children are not a part of marriage what does it matter if two sisters marry?

    It has always been defined as a man and a woman in order to propagate the species. What do gay unions propagate besides disease and death/ With the Lovings we were given children which would give us future workers. The color of a person’s skin has no bearing on whether they can create children but gender has everything to do with whether two people can create children. Therefore gender has everything to do with marriage while skin color does not. The Lovings were fighting for one man of any color-in his case, White and any one woman of any color-in her case, Black to marry. They were not changing the definition of marriage. In fact they were growing the marriage pool by saying all men were entitled to marry all women regardless of color. The gays want to discriminate based on sex. With traditional marriage both sexes are mandated to be involved. With gay marriage the opposite sex is discriminated against and are being told they are not necessary or vital to the institution of marriage. It is the gay marriage proponents that are promoting bigotry not the traditional marriage crowd.

  36. When your shameless lies convinced a slim majority of Californians to turn against us, we stood up for ourselves, something you people clearly were not expecting. I know you expected us to quietly roll over and hope *really hard* that you wouldn’t take any more away from us and beg you to take pity on us, but those days are done. Believe me. Done. Just wait until 2010, when this goes back on the ballot. Now businesses and people like Margie who used to think that they could take our money with one hand and stab us in the back with the other (a hidden sneer behind their smile) realize that they can’t get away with that anymore. They won’t be so quick to donate next time. We will win this thing. And when we do, and you realize that literally nothing in your life has changed and your whole opposition to us was out of pettiness and spite, maybe then your eyes will be opened. Anything’s possible.

  37. Wow! You have delusions of grandeur don’t you? Well let me break it down for you so a five year old can understand

    96 percent of us-big number
    4 percent of you-small number

    Big numbers always beat small numbers. But we don’t have to worry too much because if it is not bug chasers out there trying to get AIDS, you have people doing meth and those are not doing meth are knocking their partners around with metal chains (ahem* Boy George) so you guys are doing quite a job of killing yourselves and we don’t have to lift a finger. All we have to do is sit back and watch you self-destruct which is pretty much the road you are on. But I will tell you this, you are not taking our children with you. So if you want a fight-you got one. But remember there is no one on the planet more dangerous than me. Because I am a mother protecting my young. I am your worst nightmare. So bring it on brother I am ready for you.

  38. Thank you for finally exposing yourself as the disgusting bigot you are. All this talk of “love the sinner, not the sin”, has been exposed as the lie we’ve always known it was. I sincerely appreciate it. And just so you know, the vote was 52 to 48, which means plenty of “you” are siding with “us”.
    Not that it’s any of your business, but I don’t have AIDS, I don’t do meth, and I’ve never beaten anyone with a chain, or tried to “turn” a child gay, and neither has gay person I know. If you actually went out in the world and talked to gay people you would not repeat such hateful stereotypes.

  39. Hello I know plenty of gay people and a lot of them are family members, I am talking about the militant radical bellligerent types like you! You want to spew hate at a friend of mine, well I will fight back. And I make no apologies from defending her from your vicious attacks! And the gays I do know, I also love because they are not evil idiots like yourself! As far as the HIV/AIDS goes, 70 percent of those with it are gay men so that is real whether you have it or not! The elevated domestic abuse is real whether it has happened to you or not! Whether you personally do meth is irrelevant because it is ravaging the gay community whether you admit it or not! My point was to say, we don’t need to “bash” you guys are doing it to yourselves pretty well I might add.

    Blacks are aborting themselves into oblivion. We have killed more Blacks then the White man could ever dream of and for us to sit there and blame our troubles on the White man is stupid. Just like your little pity party of blaming your problems on the straight community is also stupid! The White man hasn’t kept Blacks down, we have done that ourselves. The straight community hasn’t kept the gays down but because being gay is so inherently unhealthy you guys are doing it to yourself! So yeah, the ignorant gays like you I will gladly take on because you are a bunch of cowards anyway! But at the same time they are plenty of gays who stand up against you. There is Tammy Bruce, John McKellar and others who think of society first and not just their own carnal needs. But you wouldn’t understand that because you are so selfish you don’t care who you hurt.

  40. Look, I don’t condone harassment nor would I join a public protest outside the restaurant’s front door.

    But I have every right to decide who I give my dollars to. Just as the Mormon Church and other religious institutions have a long history of choosing not to give their patronage to businesses that support causes they oppose, I have every right to decide not to eat at a restaurant whose owner gave money to a cause I was deeply against.

    That is not “persecution”, that is not “bullying”, that is not “hatred”. That is the free market.

    And yes, I do have the right to know whether a business owner makes a donation to a cause I oppose. This is not unprecedented behavior or unethical behavior or “bullying” behavior. This is the express purpose of the government having campaign finance reporting laws in the first place. The government forced both the Yes on 8 and No on 8 campaigns to record the names of everyone who donated money so there would be public accountability on this issue. The government put a space on the reporting form for a person’s place of business so that customers would be able to exercise their freedom of choice to vote with their dollars.

    There is nothing unethical, illegal or wrong about publicizing this information or making it part of a political strategy. If it were, then it would be a sin the Yes on 8 campaign committed first, since the Yes on 8 campaign started the practice of sending letters to businesses publicly recorded as donating to No on 8 telling them to donate an equal amount to Yes on 8 or they would be included in a boycott. The event at the El Coyote press conference — which I agree was an unfortunate result of tempers and tensions running high and could’ve been handled better — was nonetheless merely a mirror of those letters. Fair is fair.

  41. Look Arthur, people like you are not getting it! I don’t care who you do or do not give your dollars to! No one is debating that. I am debating the abhorrent treatment of a woman who has never hurt anyone and who was put through the ringer for standing by her beliefs. Give your money to Killing Kittens Unlimited for all I care but you don’t have the right to harass anyone! That is the issue and the only issue and I won’t have my friend vilified for 100 dollars…..period!

Leave a Reply

